The award ceremony

The Tällberg Foundation paid tribute to four outstanding Global Leaders who have demonstrated the kind of leadership demanded by the challenges of the 21st century: innovative, imaginative, flexible, systems-based, risk-taking and, above all, ethical. By honoring them, the Foundation not only seeks to nurture and extend their accomplishments, but also to encourage others to follow their examples.

Tallberg for Prize CeremonyTällberg Global Leaders are nominated through an open, online process. Anyone from any country from any discipline is eligible: politicians, statesmen, scientists, educators, social entrepreneurs, educators, environmentalists, artists, religious and military figures, and others—literally anyone who meets the broad criteria. An international jury reviews the nominations and selects the people who, in their judgment, best exemplify the types of leaders needed today.

The Tällberg Global Leaders of 2017 join the leaders from the past two years to comprise a self-reinforcing network of leaders who are working—in diverse fields, organizations, countries and cultures — to produce positive social change. As different as they are, these leaders share common ideas, dreams and challenges. Together with the Tällberg Foundation board and leadership jury members, they can help each other achieve goals and overcome obstacles.

On November 29, 2017, we awarded the inaugural Eliasson Global Leadership Prizes of the Tällberg Foundation. The leadership prize is named in honor of the international and Swedish diplomat, Ambassador Jan Eliasson, who most recently served as Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations. The Prizes are given annually to outstanding leaders in any country and any discipline whose work is global in application, innovative, courageous and rooted in universal values. Two Global Leaders will each receive $50,000 to encourage his or her continued leadership.