Past Award

The Tällberg Foundation Leadership Award for Principled Pragmatism was awarded between 2005-2012.

The award was given to individuals who has consistently applied humanistic, social and ecological values in his/her pursuit of results. The prize encouraged and supported the leadership that combines the articulation of consistent values and positive results.

2012: Melinda and Bill Gates, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, USA
2011: Jens Stoltenberg, Prime Minister of Norway
2010: Achim Steiner, Executive Director, United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), Nairobi
2009: Gro Harlem Brundtland, Former Prime Minister, Norway
2008: Kofi Annan, Former Secretary-General, United Nations, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate and Chairman, Kofi Annan Foundation, Switzerland
2006: Lord John Browne of Madingley, former Group Chief Executive, BP, United Kingdom
2005: Russell Ackoff, Chairman, Interact, USA

You can learn about the current Tällberg Foundation Global Leadership Prize and its criteria here.